Believing In Yourself to Get the Body You Want

So here is something I realized today, when I was looking in the mirror and telling myself how damn good I look (a practice I highly recommend for boosting self-confidence):

Getting the body you want is a lot like becoming the person you want to be. You first have to believe you are capable of it.

This may seem like common sense. Of course you have to believe in yourself, everyone says that all the time, “Believe in yourself, believe in yourself, etc.” But do you really understand the depth of that statement?

I’ve been working on this whole “believing in yourself” thing for a while now. For me, it’s mostly believing that I am capable of attaining certain traits. For example, if I see someone doing something I admire, I tell myself that I can do it, too. This doesn’t have to be something tangible, like, “That person can run a mile and so can I.” It’s usually something like, “That person seems so confident when they speak. I want to be that way, too.” And then I actively start approaching conversations as if I were confident. I will literally pretend to have the trait I admire until I finally realize one day that I have attained said trait. Fake it ’till you make it. This works because you do have these traits in you, it’s just a matter of realizing it and pushing them to the surface, believing that they are there, even if your brain is doing all it can to tell you they’re not.

Okay, okay, but what does this have to do with getting the body you dream of? Everything. My personal body shape dream is a flat stomach, the kind of stomach that’s toned but not overly muscular, the kind that looks great in any pants/skirt/dress/anything. If you start out a diet plan or an exercise plan with the goal of “I want a flat stomach”, but believe yourself to be the type of person who doesn’t have said stomach, you may inadvertantly sabotage yourself repeatedly and cough it up to just being stuck with the flab.

But you know what? You do have abdominal muscles. EVERYONE has abdominal muscles. Whatever your dream body looks like, it’s probably just a matter of toning those muscles and getting them to poke out through your insecurities and fear and whatever else is keeping fat on your body. In other words, you have to BELIEVE that your muscles are in there somewhere. You have to BELIEVE that you are capable of strengthening them, and that they will one day show themselves. I don’t care how much you want something, if you don’t believe with your whole being that you can get it (and DESERVE it!), you are fighting an uphill battle.

Make it easy on yourself. Believe in your sexy muscles. And take the time to look at yourself in the mirror and tell yourself how beautiful you are. Even if you’re only pretending right now. Give it time. You’ll believe it.

Leave a Reply

