AN EXPERIMENT and Some Hoops I Made Today!

Today I decided to try something a little different in my routine. Normally I wake up and go to yoga. If my alarm goes off at 8:00 AM and I don’t immediately feel like going back to sleep, I will get up and go to 9:00 AM yoga. If I feel like going back to sleep, I will go back to sleep. And then get up later and go to 11:00 AM class.

I like to go to yoga first thing in the morning for a couple of reasons:

#1: It’s a good way to start the day

and

#2: It’s out of the way, and I have the whole rest of the day to say to myself, “Even if I do nothing else the entire rest of today, at least I went to yoga.” And then I high-five myself.

TODAY, however, I decided to EXPERIMENT. I’m not a scientist, mind you. This could easily be proven by the Science Fair “experiments” I was forced to do in elementary school and Jr. High. They were usually thrown together at the last minute and it was embarrassing to even put them on display. I used to wander around the gym trying to find display boards and data that looked worse than mine, just to make myself feel better. It was really hard.

Anyway, that’s not the point. The point is, I graduated a while ago and there is no need for me to compile data and display it in an appealing way, I can just babble about it here.

Here’s what I did today: I woke up at 8:00 AM, ACTUALLY GOT OUT OF BED (this is the key to the experiment), and then I ate a little bit of breakfast and drank a lot of water and went to 11:00 AM class. I wanted to be up for at least three hours if I was going to have breakfast, because you’re supposed to go to yoga on an empty stomach. So when I was going immediately upon waking, I’d go with no food in my belly whatsoever. TODAY, HOWEVER, I had a LITTLE BIT of PRE-DIGESTED food in my belly, and three hours worth of hydration.

I am calling this experiment a SUCCESS because class was AWESOME, I did every posture, and at the part of class where I have the tendency to run out of energy, I did NOT run out of energy. SO YEAH. I think I will keep doing it this way and see how it goes.

ALSO, I managed to get some stuff DONE before I even left for class! I felt very productive and important. Suck on that, 5th grade me who always waited until the last minute to work on your science fair project. LOOK HOW PRODUCTIVE AND IMPORTANT I AM NOW.

*ahem*

Before class I put together some bare hoops and taped one, and after class, I taped four more. I MADE FIVE HOOPS TODAY. Would you like to see a picture? Good, because I’m going to show you one.

Would you like to see another? A close-up, maybe? GOOD. HERE YOU GO:

The orange and purple one is the only one that was special ordered, the rest I made for FUN. And to have on hand should someone approach me and say, “Hey, if you have any hula hoops, I would like to purchase one from you!” Which happens more often than you might think.

Oh, but anyway, the orange and purple one is collapsible and I took a picture of it all collapsed:

I’m giving away one of the smaller ones in my class tonight in celebration of my BIRTHDAY. 🙂 (Here’s my official hooping stuff website where there’s information on my classes AND my hoops because I am a PROFESSIONAL.)

Have a fantastic day! *HIGH FIVES*

5 thoughts on “AN EXPERIMENT and Some Hoops I Made Today!

    • It IS really easy, it’s just expensive if you only want to make one or two hoops because the supplies can get pricey, but if you want to make a bunch of hoops it evens out. 🙂

      Jason Unbound’s tutorial is totally the one I used when I first started making them! I also highly recommend this video by Natasha: http://youtu.be/f1jXb6SC_4w

      Except that I use boiling water on the stove rather than a power stripper because it’s SO EASY and I think it’s kind of fun. 🙂 Natasha also has a video for taping hoops here: http://youtu.be/f1jXb6SC_4w, and I just uploaded a video with my method for using the metallic tapes, because they can be kind of tricky. It’s here: http://youtu.be/hSCfruHs9lY

      Taping hoops is the part that requires practice, your first hoops will not look that great but it won’t matter because they’ll have lots of character and you’ll love them anyway. 🙂 My first hoop I taped entirely with duct tape, NOT recommended because it gets all sticky very quickly and it tears up much worse than the gaff I use now. But it’s part of the learning process, and it’s still a lot of fun!

      OH and go to Lowe’s, don’t bother going to Home Depot because they don’t have the tubing for some reason. And I get my tape from identi-tape.com. 🙂

Leave a Reply

