Camp NaNoWriMo and a WHOLE LOTTA BLOGGIN’.

The point of this post is that I’m going to blog every day until the end of August and I’m taking suggestions for topics, but I take a while to get to it, so I thought I’d add this italicized bit at the top. Please KEEP READING for my fascinating explanation!

I realize I already posted today but I went for a run and drank a nice coconut water* and took a nice shower and in that shower I had an IDEA so I wanted to make another post.

As you may or may not know (but you really should because it’s kind of important), every year I participate in National Novel Writing Month, a journey through the month of November in which people attempt to write 50,000 words of fiction in 30 days. It is oodles and oodles of fun, but in recent years, I’ve found myself attempting to use it to write grand, sweeping, epic works of non-fiction, which the rules clearly state you’re not allowed to do (fiction only, bub).

While I know deep down in my heart that writing non-fiction for NaNoWriMo will not actually cause me to be carted off to jail or drown in a terrible boating “accident”, the guilt monkeys still eat me alive until I concede to start over on a work of fiction. Sometimes I still make it to the finish line. Sometimes I don’t.

HOWEVER, the NaNoing gods have deemed the months of July and August CAMP NaNoWriMo, two more months to attempt the same stupid feat.

This fills me with an odd sense of writerly freedom. This is CAMP, for crying out loud, and what is camp for if not to run around in stuff that’s new, unexplored, dipping your toe into a little bit of each various activity just for the heck of it? To shoot a bow and arrow even though you’re terrified of sharp things? To go on long, arduous hikes through mountains when you’d normally be inside watching YouTube videos? To ride in a canoe and flip it over just to say you did??

Anyway, the point is, I’ve been trying to decide what I’d like to write for Camp. And the truth is, I mostly just want to use it as an excuse to write a LOT. But after searching my feelings like a good Jedi, I’ve realized that what I’d most like to write are more blog posts. A lot more. Say, a post every day until the end of August?

Yes, I realize I’ve already missed the first week of July, but you know what, I’ve been moving and also giving up a substance researchers have found to be just as addictive as cocaine and heroin, so I’m forgiving myself that slight.

HOWEVER. I’m opening the floor up to post topics. If you have something you’d like me to blog about, LET ME KNOW. You are limited ONLY by the trappings of your own imagination. Is there something I’ve blogged about before that you’d like to hear more about? Something you like that you want to hear my take on? Something completely random and off the cuff, yet oddly specific, like, “I want you to blog about what happens to a capuchin monkey when they don’t get enough to eat for five days, please write this from the point of view of the monkey”? SUGGEST IT. You can even suggest fiction if you want, but if you do, at least give me a starting point.

Listen, I’m going to be blogging every damn day for the next fifty-four days whether you like it or not, and you can either give me a topic you’d actually be interested in reading about, or leave it up to me to decide if that’s the day I want to talk about how horrible my lady cramps are. (And they ARE. But I’m not blogging about that. Yet.)

UNLESS YOU SPECIFICALLY TELL ME NOT TO, I’ll credit you as the grand suggester of the topic for the day. I’m giving myself veto-power over topics, but I’ll try to use it sparingly. I want this to be fun for EVERYONE. Mostly me. All you have to do to suggest a topic is leave a comment.

Pretend you are at camp, too! A camp where someone decides to hand you their creative process for two months so that they don’t have to worry about it anymore! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaand GO!!!

*If you have never had a coconut water after some type of physical activity I HIGHLY suggest you give it a try, just don’t get Zico, the stuff tastes like feet and has added crap in it, go with Naked, IT IS DELICIOUS.

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo and a WHOLE LOTTA BLOGGIN’.

  1. Dancing Pandas with Kazoos. See, there is this panda who is part of the national DPK squad, but he sprains a finger (… claw?) and can no longer play the kazoo while he dances, so he gets demoted to the dancing-only section of the squad which has far less prestige than the dancing and kazooing section. WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?

    What was your favorite fairy tale growing up, and which is your favorite now?

    Retell a fairy tale from the point of view of the protagonist’s sibling.

    What is cool?

    Okay, that’s all I’ve got for now. I don’t think I’m going to manage either July or August for Camp NaNo. D: I’ve only got about 500 words so far. Auuuuugh.

Leave a Reply

